Who will win 2016–17 Premier League

Who will win 2016–17 Premier League: a performance based predictions tells

The 2016–17 Premier League is the 25th season of the Premier League, the top English professional league for association football clubs, since its establishment in 1992. The season began on 13 August 2016 and is scheduled to end on 21 May 2017.

Leicester City are the defending champions. Burnley, Middlesbrough and Hull City have entered as the three promoted teams from the 2015–16 Football League Championship.

Three months on, it still hasn’t sunk in for many that Leicester City really are the defending Premier League champions. Their whole lives were a 5,000-1 shot eh?

One of their holy trinity of star players – N’Golo Kante – has left but Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy remain and the Foxes have a 2016–17 Premier League to look forward to this year.

And if the history books are anything to go by, then they certainly won’t lose their opening game against Hull on Saturday lunchtime.

The defending Premier League champions have never lost their opening game the following season. In fact, the defending champions have won all but four games on the opening weekend.

Chelsea recorded the biggest win on the opening weekend by a defending champion when they beat West Brom 6-0 in 2010.

2016–17 Premier League

Last season Chelsea drew 2-2 with Swansea – a game that was marked by the fallout between Jose Mourinho and physio Eva Carneiro – and in 2008 Manchester United drew 1-1 with Newcastle.

Sir Alex Ferguson’s side were also held by Reading 12 months earlier, and after winning their treble in 1999 United drew with Everton.

Guardiola’s Manchester City sides are favorites at the bookies, while Chelsea – not in Europe this season – could have an advantage.

Read Also:

Adam Lallana sets record for distance covered in a Premier League game for 2016/17

If Leicester retain their title it would be the seventh time the feat has been achieved, while Chelsea’s 10th-place finish last season is the worst defense.

2016–17 Premier League: Opening day records are:

Who will win 2016–17 Premier League

About the author - admin